Sometimes I work with the autopilot on. It happens when there is a series of simple things to do in a small amount of time. The priority become to mark all the items of the to-do list before turn off the PC and go home.

Since the tasks are quite trivial, there is no need to think about a fancy way to solve them: it's just code to write. But sometimes it happens that, after accomplishing everything, I ask to myself: "why the hell did I do that?!"

Usually the answer is: "because I was thinking about a fast solution, not a good solution". So I have to rewrite and spend more time in something that could have been done better the first time.

[ By the way, the philosophy "just make it run" is something that I consider totally awful. ]

But right after reading this article, I felt like a door was opened in front of me. Now I know what I have to do: spend five minutes in thinking before, instead of one hour after to rewrite.

You know, thinking is always a smart thing.

The Thinker - Auguste Rodin


Image by innoxiuss taken from Wikimedia Commons licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic license.